Travel Advice at Angkasa Pura II Airports. Click here.

  • News
  • In the Midst of Pandemic COVID-19, PT Angkasa Pura II Introduces Airport Safety and Health Protocols in Accordance with Global Standards


Latest news about PT Angkasa Pura II (Persero)

In the Midst of Pandemic COVID-19, PT Angkasa Pura II Introduces Airport Safety and Health Protocols in Accordance with Global Standards

27 Jul 2020

Three Pillars Become the Main Focus

Jakarta - PT Angkasa Pura II (Persero) together with all aviation stakeholders in the midst of a global pandemic COVID-19 introduced the Safe Travel Campaign program to provide a sense of security and comfort for all people in traveling by plane in the period of new habit adaptation.

The Safe Travel Campaign program is run at 19 airports of PT Angkasa Pura II, and refers to global standards, one of which is the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) protocol, which is a global institution overseeing business in the tourism sector (travel & tourism).

WTTC itself in releasing the protocol also includes procedures that have been made by the Airport Council International (ACI).

PT Angkasa Pura II President Director Muhammad Awaluddin said the protocol was implemented with all stakeholders in 19 airports managed by the company.

"We hope that this Safe Travel Campaign can maintain and increase public confidence so that the national aviation sector can again become one of the main drivers of the economy and tourism in the period of adaptation to new habits," said Muhammad Awaluddin.

Muhammad Awaluddin said that PT Angkasa Pura II's Safe Travel Campaign protocol which refers to the WTCC as well as ACI is to strengthen the 3 pillars amid the adaptation of new habits, namely:
1. Airport Operations and Staff Preparedness
2. Ensuring the Creation of a Safe Passenger Experience from COVID-19 (Ensuring a Safe Experience)
3. and Rebuilding Trust and Confidence.

"The strong three pillars can create a safe airport [Safe Airport], a healthy airport [Healthy Airport] and a hygienic airport [Hygiene Airport]," said Muhammad Awaluddin.

Strengthen the Three Pillars
PT Angkasa Pura II Director of Operations and Services Muhammad Wasid said various protocols had been implemented to strengthen the three pillars.

"To strengthen the pillars of Operational and Staff Preparedness, for example, we adjust work patterns, require the use of PPE such as masks and gloves, then carry out health checks through checking body temperature every day until the test, and monitoring the health of personnel every day. We have also established protocols for tenants to always prioritize cleanliness and hygiene. "

"Meanwhile, in order to strengthen the pillar of the Ensuring a Safe Experience, PT Angkasa Pura II and stakeholders have a disinfection program throughout the airport area, screening health-related aspects using a variety of facilities such as thermo guns, thermal scanners and inspection of health documents," Muhamad Wasid said.

Furthermore, Muhamad Wasid said that in order to strengthen the Rebuilding Trust & Confidence pillar, PT Angkasa Pura II consistently informed and communicated various protocols established in the aviation sector, one of which was by providing the site, as well as making clear signage at the airport. related to the implementation of the protocol.

Muhamad Wasid added that PT Angkasa Pura II also prioritized digitization in facing COVID-19 challenges, such as the application of touchless in a number of facilities such as elevators, hand sanitizers at all terminal points, the use of full body scanners, document checking through the Travelation application.

"A number of disinfections such as at Soekarno-Hatta Airport are also carried out using UV Sterilizers such as at travelators, then to sterilize passenger luggage on X-ray at security checkpoints and when baggage collection at the baggage claim area," Muhammad Wasid explained.

The airports currently managed by PT Angkasa Pura II are Soekarno-Hatta (Tangerang), Halim Perdanakusuma (Jakarta), Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II (Palembang), Kualanamu (Deli Serdang), Sultan Syarif Kasim II (Pekanbaru), Silangit (Tapanuli North).

Then, Raja Haji Fisabilillah (Tanjung Pinang), Supadio (Pontianak), Banyuwangi, Radin Inten II (Lampung), Husein Sastranegara (Bandung), Depati Amir (Pangkalpinang), Sultan Thaha (Jambi), HAS Hanandjoeddin (Belitung), Tjilik Riwut (Palangkaraya) and Kertajati (Majalengka), Fatmawati Soekarno (Bengkulu), Sultan Iskandar Muda (Aceh) and Minangkabau (Padang).